August Adieu

There is something magical about beginnings and endings. Beginnings draw you in, excite you, and stir your curiosity. Beginnings may daunt you.

They sat that starting is the hardest part, but I beg to differ. It’s the middles that are tricky. The middle is where we can lose focus, drive, and interest. In the middle, the end seems too distant to reach and the beginning seems too important to abandon. Nevertheless, the middle is where most of us are. The middle of becoming a better person. That is why it is important to keep perspective. I like to think of each day as a new beginning and treat bedtime as an evaluation period. Did I do everything I wanted to do? The answer has rarely been yes. But, as long as I am moving forward I don’t really care how close to the end I get.

In all actuality, most ‘endings’ are deceptive. Sure, you can finish writing a story, singing a song, doing the dishes, reading a book, but there will always be another story to scribble down, another smash hit to scream at the top of your lungs, another mealtime of dishes to do, and another book to read. The great part- no two moments are identical. So, even though I am marking the end of a summer in my life, I still have a lifetime of summers stretching in front of me. This is my farewell to summer.

There is something magical about beginnings and endings. Beginnings draw you in, excite you, and stir your curiosity. Beginnings may daunt you, but endings- endings are merely small naps before you get up and moving again.

On to bigger and brighter things.

August Adieu

 My sunglasses sit safely on my shelf,

The sand and the shells sail away,

And semi-sadly I sit by myself,

As Summer slips softly away.

One thought on “August Adieu

Please comment here.

