The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award

liebsteraward

The Liebster Award is an award spread blogger-to-blogger. Like a chain email, but more exciting. The Liebster Award is specifically for blogs with less than 200 followers. The nominee must answer 11 questions  (created by the nominator). The nominee must then nominate 5 other blogs, asking 11 questions.

I (Smiles in the Sky) was nominated by blaiselucey1. Here are the answers to the questions:

1) When did you start writing in general?

I started writing stories and short poems at age 11. I wrote a booklet of ridiculous little poems, and called it “Swiss Doorknob” (a name taken from a nonsense poem I wrote that made (gasp) no sense.) This past summer, I made a goal to do one creative thing per day. Most days I would get to the end of the day and be writing in my journal  and realize: Hey! I need to do something creative! So, I began writing poems.

2) What inspires you to write?

I write about funny experiences I have, or things that I find ironic. When I’m in a more serious mood, I try to paint pictures or evoke moods with words. My main goal is to make people smile. (Yet another reason why I named the blog “Smiles in the Sky”.) I believe that people read to be entertained and uplifted, so I avoid the unpleasant and controversial realms of politics, swear words, and what I classify as “adult issues”. This is why I describe myself as a children’s writer. Fun, laughs, adventure, and depth, smiling all the way.

3) Why did you decide to post your writing online?

I initially posted my poems via “notes” on facebook, but I quickly realized that nobody on facebook ever read notes or even knew they existed. My cousin started a blog to keep people in touch while he  visited India to shadow a medical professional for school. I decided blogging might be a perfect way for an attention-hog such as myself to  publish my work.

4) How has the experience been, using WordPress as a way to showcase parts of your book?

I have never written a full “book”. I am, however, in the process of publishing an epic poem on my blog, one section (or “book”) per day.  The project is too young to evaluate, but I am having fun. I hope people are reading it. I’d be interested to see if anyone is anxiously waiting the next installment, or if they just read the title and fall asleep. If people are falling asleep, well, I hope they are using a comfy chair.

5) Do you use any other online marketing techniques to promote your work?

Occasionally, I use facebook. If there is a post or story I think one of my friends will appreciate, I will send them a link. Otherwise, word-of-mouth is my style.

6) What are your writing resolutions for the New Year?

I am not a fan of New Year’s resolutions. First, the New Year becomes the Old Year too quickly for most goals to be fulfilled. Second, I did way too many writing prompts in elementary and middle school along these lines: Write an extraordinarily long assignment on the goals you know you won’t accomplish this next year. Be specific and embarrass yourself as much as possible. Third, well, you’ll just have to wait  until I publish the poem “Yes, Again it’s New Year’s” to really understand. (Jan 1 if you must know the exact date.)  

In general, to answer the spirit of the question, my writing goal is to become a gooder writer. Develop a style without losing my originality. Maybe catch the attention of someone who truly likes what I write.

7) What do you think about the self-publishing vs. traditional publishing debate?

I am a big fan of real, paper-bound books. I like the weight, the original book mark, the handwriting in the margins, and the ability to eyeball how much of the book you’ve read. I don’t really have a preference for one publishing method over the other. I don’t have experience in either (I have made no money off my writing.)

8) What do you think the future of books is?

I believe in the paper book (as stated above). I have read two e-books (both on an ipod touch). I think ebooks will probably surpass paper books in sales, but I cannot imagine a world devoid of books as we now know them. Much like the synthesizer scare of the 80’s where people feared the extinction of the piano, I believe paper books will be rivaled, but never driven to extinction in the future.

My nominations:

Uncommitted Coils

The Sketchbook 

Jonesin’ After 40

Bulletproo Lonliness at Best

Anansi the Poet

Richardheydman

The 11 Questions:

1. What is the most common way you come across a new blog? (links on blogs, freshly pressed, google, etc.)

2. What is your blogging pet peeve?

3. What is the hardest part of blogging?

4. What is your post to follower ratio? (total number of posts : total number of followers.)

5. Verbs, adverbs, of adjectives?

6. What makes a title stand out in your mind?

7. Musical or Visual arts?

8. What is the most outrageous (G-rated) pen name you can come up with?

9. What is your favorite genre and why?

10. How old (or young) do you think I am?

11. Do chickens have large talons? (Do you get obscure references?)

Thanks Everyone! And pass it on.

-M.M.

Don’t forget to copy and paste the badge onto your page!

Please comment here.

