Rusty Zig-zag

courtesy of (http://www.123rf.com/photo_274518_metal-fire-escape-manhattan-new-york-america-usa.html)

Rusty Zig-zag

 

I look out of the reinforced panes of glass,

At the building across the street,

Brick, Bold, and Built to last.

Established and Eternal.

 

I look out and see the fire escape,

A rusty zig-zag,

A rag-tag rip,

On an otherwise pristine surface,

Which reminds me,

To be grateful for what I have.

For though my building may seem eternal,

In a few fiery seconds,

All might become ash.

And all that would remain,

Would be that rusty zig-zag,

That saved

My

Life.

-M.M.

Please comment here.

