The Empathy Amphitheater

I do not usually write nonsense, but when I do, I don’t. -M.M.

 

The Empathy Amphitheater

 

Welcome to the Empathy Amphitheatre.

Really, we know how you feel.

You feel like the door greeter-meeter,

Who’s waiting for cherries to peel.

 

Just Joking. No Nonsense.

I hear from the heart,

And speak from the ear,

And see all and part.

 

If you are cold, I’ll give you a coat.

If you are hot, that’s too bad.

If you’re unsure I’ll share a bad coat,

Of the fuzziest leather I had.

 

Sharing is caring, but staring works too,

But glaring, we deem with disgust,

Is a gesture best left for the taxes collector,

Best to be banished to rust.

 

Hear the heat from the fire that scorches the sky,

The stars that stick to the black,

Up overhead in their upside-down bed.

Do you feel them staring back?

 

If you don’t, well, I quite understand.

If you do, I knew that you would.

My empathy true, and sympathy too,

Feel just the way that you should.

 

Sit down. Have a seat.

Or stay where you stand.

To stand is to understand me.

Emphatically I implore you to explore,

Expressions which you share with me.

 

For I am not you, and you are not me,

And neither of us can agree,

Or then pretend to full comprehend,

Each other to any degree.

 

So Empathy really, cannot exist,

For imperfect people as we,

So let’s sit downs with smiles or frowns,

‘Cross a cup of some sweet sympathy.

 

-M.M.

Please comment here.

