Always Next Valentine’s Day

 

Always Next Valentine’s Day

 

I meant to give you a card today,

My gift to you, sweet Sally Mae,

I worked so hard,

To make the card,

For you this Valentine’s Day.

 

I saw you standing ‘cross the way,

I steeled my nerves and braveray,

And while I felt bolder,

I tapped on your shoulder,

And you turned around and said, “Hey.”

But it wasn’t your face,

My mind started to race,

So I’m sorry that I have to say.

That because of my slip,

–Sally Mae, please don’t flip,

I gave your card away.

You’ll hate me I fear,

But there’s always next year,

To celebrate Valentine’s Day.

 

-M.M.

Please comment here.

