Blocked

For those of us who need to overcome a spell of writer’s block. -M.M.

Blocked

 

I cannot write a poem today.

I have nothing new to say.

 

I feel I’ve hit a giant wall,

Altogether much too tall

For me to climb and risk the drop,

Falling from the very top.

So I shall sit and, for my sake,

Sleep until I fall awake,

Beside these smoking, charred remains,

Of my former thinking trains.

But no, to sit is just as bad,

For who can tell, for all it’s had,

If this wall might soon collapse,

And wipe my dot off all the maps.

 

I cannot write a poem today,

But to keep my thoughts at bay,

I’ll write this poem yesterday.

-M.M.

Please comment here.

