Return to Ithaca

Photo Credit: http://www.umich.edu/~homeros/Representations%20of%20Homer’s%20Ideas/Marisa-Iliad%20Odyssey/Marisa-Iliad%20Odyssey.htm

 

Return to Ithaca

Upon the storm-tossed sea was I,
Alone on my wreck of a ship.
The winds were perverse.
Why now this dread curse?
As I struggled to live and mused I might die.

I prayed to Poseidon to stop the foul tide,
That I was a slave to, forced to abide
By rules so relentless
That fighting is fruitless
At night with the roaring of waves by my side.

I prayed to the gods to save my poor life,
That I might return to my child and my wife.
I miss that fair mistress
Who pines in her distress
And worries about me through struggle and strife.

Tossing and tumbling about in the break,
With great Zeus’s thunder, for which I did quake,
The lightning ‘round flashed
And thundering thrashed
The waves which around me my prison did make.

Just as I thought my query was lost,
And hope was subdued with a wintery frost,
My mind in the dark,
When I saw the spark,
Of light through the clouds though near faint in exhaust.

The light broke through clouds as flowers through soil
And I dared hope I was through with my toil.
The waves, they did settle,
A smooth glasslike metal,
As my ship gently bumped on my homeland’s pure soil.

-M.M.

One thought on “Return to Ithaca

  1. of course we love all your work….just wondering when you have time for these, and we continue to be amazed at the workings of your severely gifted brain.

    Like

Please comment here.

